A Great Evening at the 1st Annual Patriot of the Year Banquet

The 1st Annual Patriot of the Year Banquet was a huge success. The attendance count came in at approximately 85 which included several members of our Advisory Board. Thank you to everyone that came out and weathered the terrific “Texas Thunder Storms” that blew through just as the guests were arriving. No doubt the intensity of the storms kept a few of our invitees away. However, if our scheduling more events will bring in more rain than we will look into this possibility.

The program began with the prayer by Hays County Precinct 3 Constable Daryl Ayers and the Presentation of the Colors by the Sons of the American Revolution, Patrick Henry and Alexander Hamilton Chapters of the TXSSAR. Jeff Wise Color Guard Capt., Robert Hites our Color Guard Lt, and reservist U.S. Army Major, Ray DeVries from the Alexander Hamilton Chapter and Ron Moulton on the Drums & Fife.

Two Patriots of the Year were recognized: 1st Responder Patriot of the Year Chris Dibrell and Veteran Support Patriot of the Year Alan Cameron.

The Keynote speakers, Stephen Fogle and Lt. General Glynn Mallory, did a fantastic job. There were also several speeches by others, including CTRH Advisory Board Member Sheriff Gary Cutler, North Hays Volunteer Fire Dept. Chief Tom Miller and Lisa Shine, one of Wimberley’s Gold Star Sisters whose brother, MSG Robert (Bob) Horrigan, died in Iraq on June 17th, 2005 (“Bringin’ it to’em!”). Robert was the best of the best serving his country while protecting everyone’s right to life and liberty.